The Fountain–WIP 3

fountainwip3

There’s going to be a lot of cleaning-up of lines in this one, I can tell.  X__X

Today I sketched in the male figure as well as the fountain.   I was extremely pleased with how the pose came out in the end, though it took me several tries and erasing the whole thing and starting again.  I did use reference for the face, because I am absolutely terrible at angles like that, but the body was from imagination.

The fountain also went through a few iterations as I was building it up, but I have a pretty good idea of what it’s going to look like now.  I wanted to go for something Byzantine and ancient as stone, because this card is a Milestone and something of a force of nature rather than something polished and civilized and manmade. Now that I have the design, I will have to go in and break parts of it too, because it is that old.  : /

One of my favorite things is getting to design objects/clothing.  I think a really cool job would be scene and prop design for movies or stage productions, and if there were any way I could stand living on the West Coast that might have been a thing I considered as a career.  But alas.

I love it when objects and environment tell their own story without needing words.  There is always a reason an object looks how it does, because it’s a product of the culture and circumstances it came from.  It’s one of the things that really good video games do really well (see Bioshock and its sequels–oh my goodness, the visual language in those games).

In any case, this is coming along nicely.

Leave a Reply

